Epidemiological update: Omicron variant of concern (VOC) – data as of 2 December 2021 (12.00)

Epidemiological update

As of 2 December 2021, and since 1 December 2021, 20 additional SARS-CoV-2 Omicron VOC cases have been confirmed, bringing the total to 79 confirmed cases. The cases have been reported by 15 European Union and European Economic Area (EU/EEA) countries: Austria (4), Belgium (3), Czechia (1), Denmark (6), France (2, including 1 in Réunion), Germany (10), Greece (1), Iceland (1), Ireland (1), Italy (9), the Netherlands (16), Norway (4), Portugal (14), Spain (3), and Sweden (4), according to information from public sources. Four new EU/EEA countries reporting Omicron variant cases are: Iceland, Ireland, Greece, and Norway.

A number of probable cases have also been reported from across the region, but these are still under investigation. The majority of confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, with some having taken connecting flights at other destinations between Africa and Europe. Several European countries reported cases without a travel history who also had no known contact with a case with a travel history (Belgium, Germany, and the United Kingdom).

All cases for which there is available information on severity were either asymptomatic or mild. No severe cases and no deaths have been reported among these cases so far.

Cases have been reported in 16 countries and territories outside of the EU/EEA (Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Ghana, Israel, Japan, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, and the United Kingdom). Overall, 390 confirmed cases have been reported in 31 countries.