Epidemiological update: Omicron variant of concern (VOC) – data as of 30 November 2021 (12.00)

Epidemiological update

As of 30 November 2021, 44 confirmed cases of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron VOC have been reported by eleven European Union and European Economic Area (EU/EEA) countries (Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, France (Reunion), Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden) according to information from public sources.

A number of probable cases have also been reported from across the region, but these are still under investigation. The majority of confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, with some having taken connecting flights at other destinations between Africa and Europe. All cases for which there is information available  on severity were either asymptomatic or had mild symptoms. So far, no severe cases or deaths have been reported among these cases.

Cases have been reported in nine countries and territories outside of the EU/EEA (Australia, Botswana, Canada, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Switzerland and the United Kingdom).