Public health networks

The National Focal Points (NFP) and Operational Contact Points (OCP) for the below public health functions constitute the ECDC Public Health Networks. Within the ECDC, each of the Public Health Networks is coordinated by the relevant ECDC section:

  • Communication
  • Microbiology
  • Preparedness and Response
  • Public Health Training
  • Scientific Advice Coordination
  • Surveillance
  • Threat Detection.

The Microbiology Network includes the NFPs for Microbiology and the OCPs for Microbiology in all the Disease Networks, likewise the Surveillance Network includes the NFPs for surveillance and the OCPs for epidemiology microbiology (when appropriate, e.g. for laboratory based surveillance) and TESSy interactions in all the disease networks.