Epidemiological update: Omicron variant of concern (VOC) – data as of 29 November 2021 (12:30)

Epidemiological update

As of 29 November 2021, 33 confirmed SARS-CoV-2 Omicron VOC cases have been reported by eight European Union and European Economic Area (EU/EEA) countries (Austria, Belgium, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal) according to information from public sources.

A number of probable cases have also been reported from across the region, but these are still under investigation. All confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, with some having taken connecting flights at other destinations between Africa and Europe. All cases for which there is available information on severity were either asymptomatic or mild. No severe cases and no deaths have been reported among these cases so far.

Cases have been reported in seven countries and territories outside of the EU/EEA (Australia, Botswana, Canada, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Israel, South Africa, United Kingdom).